student in classWhile UCLA Law has many areas on which students may consider focusing their studies, the school also offers five Areas of Specialization that allow students to design a rigorous course of study and ultimately earn a certificate of completion with their J.D.

Generally, if a student feels they can offer a distinctive programmatic contribution to an Area of Specialization, that individual would indicate this on the application for admission to the school.

UCLA Law currently offers five Specializations:

Business Law and Policy Specialization
Critical Race Studies
David J. Epstein Program in Public Interest Law & Policy
Entertainment, Media, and Intellectual Property Law Program
Law and Philosophy Program