Resnick Program for Food Law & Policy


Who We Are – Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy

Executive Director

Policy and Special Programs Director

  • Policy and Special Programs Director, Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy
    Lecturer in Law
    Learn More

Academic Advisory Board

Global Distinguished Fellow

Affiliated Faculty

Policy Fellow

Food Law Scholar

Whitney_Turk Whitney Turk
Food Law Scholar, Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy

B.A. Colorado College, 2004
M.A. Graduate Theological Union; Pacific School of Religion, 2010
M.A. Brooklyn College, 2011
J.D. Georgetown University Law Center, 2014

Whitney Turk is the Food Law Scholar at the Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy. Her research focus is on economically motivated adulteration (EMA), a form of food fraud. At UCLA, she will develop tools and scholarship that explain the problem of EMA and potential solutions within the United States and with our trading partners. EMA pervades both domestic and international food systems, but new attention to the problem will help shape future law and policy decisions about enforcement and supply chain transparency.

Whitney joined the Maryland Bar after receiving her J.D. from Georgetown in 2014. She earned an M.A. in English Education from Brooklyn College in 2011 while teaching high school English, English for Language Learners, and Special Education and also finishing her thesis for an M.A. in Systematic and Philosophical Theology from the Graduate Theological Union and Pacific School of Religion. She received a B.A. in English, Creative Writing, and Religion from Colorado College in 2004. Whitney has performed legal work in transgender equal rights policy, employment discrimination, affordable housing, and nonprofit corporate governance. She is also an amateur calligrapher, traditional hand tool woodworker, and avid Scotch enthusiast.

Summer Fellows

Austin_Bryniarski Austin Bryniarski
Summer Fellow

Austin Bryniarski is a summer fellow at the Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy. Bryniarski is entering his senior year at Yale College, where he majors in Environmental Studies with a concentration in food and agriculture. He writes for various campus publications, is a founding board member of the Yale Food Law Society, and co-runs Harvest, an orientation program that takes incoming freshmen on weeklong trips to farms throughout Connecticut. He is interested in legal approaches to food systems planning.

Tiana_Carriedo Tiana Carriedo
Summer Fellow

Tiana Carriedo is a J.D. candidate at UCLA School of Law and a 2015 summer fellow at the Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy. In 2014, Carriedo was a visiting fellow at the Justice in Mexico Project at the University of San Diego, where she authored a report on enforced disappearances in Mexico. During law school, Carriedo has served as an editor for the UCLA Journal of International Law and Foreign Affairs and is currently serving as a co-chair for the Animal Law Society. Carriedo holds an M.Sc. in international relations from the London School of Economics and Political Science and a B.A. in history from UCLA. Her research interests are in animal law, food law, human rights, trade, development, and Latin America.

Alana_Siegel Alana Siegel
Summer Fellow

Alana Siegel is a summer fellow at the Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy. Alana received a B.A. in Psychology from Lafayette College in 2013, and is currently a JD/MBA student at Washington University in St. Louis, where she is expected to graduate in 2017. Thus far, her favorite law school classes were Civil Procedure, Mergers & Acquisitions, and Intellectual Property and Architecture. At WashU, she is the Associate Managing Editor for the Washington University Journal of Law and Policy. As a 2L Staff Editor Alana’s note, “NAFTA Largely Responsible for the Obesity Epidemic in Mexico,” was selected for publication, and is set to appear in the 51st volume of the Journal in early 2016. Alana is also a member of the Intellectual Property Law Society, Sports and Entertainment Law Society, and the Women’s Law Caucus.


Emily_Chen_2 Emily Chen

B.A. Pomona College, 1998
J.D. Stanford Law School, 2003

Emily Chen is a consultant to the Resnick Program for Food Law and Policy. Executing on the mission of the University of California Global Food Initiative, Chen is the lead researcher and writer for a report analyzing how law schools across the nation are addressing, and can engage, issues of food equity. Chen also advises the Resnick Program on capacity building, on-the-ground impact projects, public programs, and communications.

A seasoned attorney, Chen has served as in-house counsel to various technology startups in the Silicon Valley. In that capacity, she negotiated global technology transactions, developed and recommended best practices for company policies and procedures, advised and collaborated on new product development, and strategized on trademark matters. Previously, Chen was a corporate associate at the New York-based law firm Shearman & Sterling LLP in their San Francisco and Silicon Valley offices, where she specialized in initial public offerings, financings, corporate governance compliance, and general corporate matters for companies in a variety of industries, including solar and biotechnology.

Chen received her J.D. from Stanford Law School. Following graduation, she clerked for the Honorable Harry L. Hupp of the United States District Court for the Central District of California. Chen received her B.A. in International Relations from Pomona College, and is conversationally fluent in Mandarin Chinese.

Chen has served on the board of directors for Youth Speaks, a leading urban youth literacy and arts organization based in San Francisco. She participates in the Los Angeles Food Policy Council, and has written on food system issues. In addition, Chen supports various food advocacy organizations in a volunteer capacity throughout Los Angeles.