Ziffren Institute for Media, Entertainment, Technology and Sports Law

The 44th Annual
Entertainment Symposium
March 20-21, 2020
Freud Playhouse, UCLA

Keynote Speaker:
Robert Greenblatt,
Chairman, WarnerMedia Entertainment
and Direct-to-Consumer

More Information

About the Entertainment Symposium

The Annual Entertainment Symposium is a flagship event for the entertainment industry, bringing leading lawyers, executives, agents, managers and producers, together with students for candid discussions on subjects at the forefront of the industry. Conversations during this two-day conference have ranged from lively debate over the changing landscape of the entertainment business, to shared insights on planning for the success of original content in a vast digital landscape, and perspectives on filmmaking in newly developing markets. Panelists regularly include top entertainment lawyers and key executives from studios and production companies, along with leaders from digital and independent companies.

Most prior Symposia Syllabi are available from the Ziffren Institute for Media, Entertainment, Technology and Sports Law. To order, complete the syllabus order form and return by mail with check or money order. For any other questions or further inquiries please email ziffreninstitute@law.ucla.edu.

Members, Entertainment Symposium Advisory Committee


Matthew C. Thompson
Sidley Austin LLP

Lawrence J. Ulman

Christa Zofcin Workman
Executive Vice President, Business & Legal Affairs, River Road Entertainment


Tom K. Ara
DLA Piper LLP (US)

Barry Babok
Babok & Robinson, LLP

Ken Basin
Paramount Television

Hillary S. Bibicoff
Holmes Weinberg, PC

Barbara Boyle '60
UCLA Department of Film, Television and Digital Media

David Boyle
Intersection Entertainment

Nancy A. Bruington
Latham & Watkins, LLP

Ann Brigid Clark
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Loan T. Dang '00
Del Shaw Moonves Tanaka Finkelstein & Lezcano

David C. Eisman ‘93
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Bonnie Eskenazi
Greenberg Glusker Fields Claman & Machtinger LLP

Jeffrey M. Freedman '93
Creative Artists Agency

Susan A. Grode
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

E. Barry Haldeman '69
Jeffer Mangels Butler & Mitchell LLP

Michael A. Helfant
Loeb & Loeb, LLP

Erik Hyman
Paul Hastings

Robb Klein
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

Kenneth Kleinberg '67
Kleinberg Lange Cuddy and Carlo LLP

Howard Meyers
Focus Features

Charles Moore
Wiggin LLP

Robyn R. Polashuk ‘94
Covington & Burling LLP

Elsa Ramo
Ramo Law PC

Caroline A. Raufi
Blumhouse Productions

Benyamin S. Ross
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Michael S. Sherman
Reed Smith LLP

Amy Siegel
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Steven Sills
Green Hasson Janks

Christopher S. Spicer
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

Shelly Sroloff '76
Creative Artists Agency

Donald W. Steele
Hansen, Jacobson, Teller, Hoberman, Newman, Warren, Richman, Rush & Kaller, L.L.P.

Daniel R. Stutz
Stutz Law Corp.

M. Kenneth Suddleson '68
Eisner, A Professional Corporation

Craig Wagner
Paradigm Talent Agency 

Sophia K. Yen
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

Kenneth ZiffrenKenneth Ziffren
Partner, Ziffren Brittenham LLP
Adjunct Faculty

Learn More

Emeriti, Entertainment Symposium Advisory Committee

Michael I. Adler '76
Lichter, Grossman, Nichols Adler & Feldman

Roger Arar
Loeb & Loeb LLP

Jeffrey A. Barker '93
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Leigh Brecheen
Bloom, Hergott, Diemer, Rosenthal LaViolette Feldman Schenkman & Goodman, LLP

Pamela Brockie '75
ICM Partners

P. John Burke
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

Gary O. Concoff

Jay Cooper
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Robert A. Darwell
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

Ruth E. Fisher
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Keith G. Fleer
Keith G. Fleer, A Professional Corporation

John T. Frankenheimer '73
Loeb & Loeb LLP

David R. Ginsburg
Retired / Executive Director, Entertainment, Media, and Intellectual Property Law Program, UCLA School of Law

Joshua Grode
Irell & Manella

Michael A. Helfant
Loeb & Loeb, LLP

Nicholas La Terza
The Point Media

Michael H. Lauer

Douglas Mark
Mark Music & Media Law, P.C.

Laurence M. Marks '78
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP

Lawrence P. Mortorff

Christopher C. Murray
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Scott S. Packman
SSP Partners LLC

Matthew H. Saver '78
Law Offices of Matthew H. Saver

Lois Scali '86

Rose PeBenito Shiner
Babok & Robinson LLP

Todd M. Stern
Weintraub Tobin

Gary Stiffelman
Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Robert M. Szymanski
Eclipse Law Corporation

Dirk van de Bunt '82
Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Guthy Renker LLC

Susan Williams
Paul Hastings LLP