Eagly Wins National Lawyers Guild Honor

Ingrid Eagly largeUCLA School of Law professor Ingrid Eagly will be honored by the Los Angeles chapter of the National Lawyers Guild (NLG) at its 2018 Annual Awards Banquet on June 10.

The faculty director of the David J. Epstein Program in Public Interest Law and Policy at UCLA Law, Eagly is a leading scholar and advocate of immigrant rights and indigent criminal defense. Her work is routinely cited in press accounts, scholarship and legal actions involving immigration enforcement and criminal justice reform, particularly in light of shifts in federal immigration policy.

As co-director of the Criminal Defense Clinic (CDC) at UCLA Law, Eagly and her students have had the privilege of collaborating with the NLG on many projects. For example, the CDC represented sidewalk vendors who are aggressively prosecuted in Los Angeles, which until recently was one of the only cities in the nation to criminalize sidewalk vending. The CDC has also worked with the NLG and other advocates and community members to defend mobile catering vendors from unconstitutional ticketing practices. Last year, the CDC worked with the NLG to train attorneys on the California state pardon process.

A member of the UCLA Law faculty since 2008, Eagly was awarded UCLA’s Distinguished Teaching Award in 2017, the university’s highest honor for work in the classroom. Before she started teaching law, Eagly was a deputy federal public defender in Los Angeles and a Soros Fellow at the Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights of Los Angeles (CHIRLA).

The National Lawyers Guild is the nation’s oldest and largest progressive bar association. Its mission is to use the law as an instrument for the protection of the people, rather than for their repression.

The National Lawyers Guild’s Los Angeles Chapter will also recognize the work of the L.A. Incubator Consortium, which UCLA Law co-founded with several other local law schools to boost recent graduates who seek to work as advocates in underserved communities, often as solo practitioners.

Tickets and information about this year’s awards banquet are available here.