Moot Court Honors Program

Moot_Court_logo
Mission
: The UCLA Moot Court Honors Program is an intramural competition open to second- and third-year law students. Teams of students brief and argue a case created especially for the competition by members of the Moot Court Executive Board. The focus is on appellate advocacy, and the judges consist primarily of local members of the bench and bar. Competitors receive scores based 50 percent on their brief and 50 percent on their oral presentation. Based upon evaluations from these judges, advocates with cumulative scores placing them among the top 40 percent of all advocates participating in the Fall and Spring competitions become members of the Moot Court Honors Program. The top two advocates from each issue and side of the Spring Honors Competition (eight total) are chosen to argue in the Roscoe Pound Semi-Finals. The best oral advocate from each issue and side (four total) go on to argue the case before three of the nation's most distinguished jurists in the annual Roscoe Pound Tournament. The top 12 students who compete in both the Fall and Spring competitions are named Distinguished Advocates. The top 19 students who compete in both the Fall and Spring are eligible for various international, national and state teams.

2017-2018 Moot Court Honors Board

President Ryan Swan swan2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP Internal Competitions Adam Koslin koslin2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP External Competitions Owen Smith smitho2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Special Competitions Michael Kramer kramerm2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Cybercrimes - Judges Aidan Welsh welsh2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Cybercrimes - Competitors Tate Harshbarger harshbarger2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP Scoring/Finance Bianka Barraza barraza2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP Judges Doug Rudeen rudeen2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Fall Dominic Rodono rodono2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Fall Kimiya Massih massih2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Spring Sarah Burns burnsss2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Spring Michael Gluk gluk2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Cyber Natasha Amlani amlani2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Cyber Tyler O'Brien obrient2018@lawnet.ucla.edu
Internal Competition Assistant Ian Grady grady2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Scoring Assistant Abel Rodriguez rodrigueza2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Finance/Sponsorship Assistant James Darling darling2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Judicial Recruitment Assistant Nathan Cox cox2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Cybercrimes Competition Assistant Christian Schlachte schlachte2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Outreach and Social Assistant Mann Sangid sangid2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Outreach and Social Assistant Ty Mangan mangan2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
External Competitions Assistant Julia Marken-Cameron markham2019@lawnet.ucla.edu